SACRAMENTO – Today, the Assembly Education Committee unanimously passed AB 19 and AB 889, two bills authored by Assemblyman Joe Patterson to address the growing Fentanyl crisis. The Assemblyman has now successfully moved three pieces of legislation regarding Fentanyl out of policy committees.

AB 19 is landmark legislation and will ensure school campuses have at least two doses of naloxone hydrochloride, commonly known as Narcan. Narcan is a life-saving medication distributed via a non-invasive nasal spray. This legislation comes at a critical time with nearly 110 Californians dying from Fentanyl every week. AB 19 has been the subject of widespread media coverage and interest. Assemblymembers Matt Haney and Liz Ortega are joint authors of the legislation.

AB 889 will require public schools to annually inform parents and guardians of the dangers associated with using synthetic drugs at the beginning of the first semester or quarter of each regular school term.

From day one, Assemblyman Joe Patterson has been true to his promise to tackle the Fentanyl crisis. “The growing Fentanyl concern must be addressed with a multi-pronged approach,” said Assemblyman Patterson. “While we fight to hold dealers and sellers accountable, we must also educate our students and families and ensure we have life-saving treatments on every campus.”

AB 889 and AB 19 now move to the Assembly Appropriations Committee. 

Patterson represents the 5th Assembly District, which is comprised of the communities of Roseville, Rocklin, Lincoln, Granite Bay, Auburn, North Auburn, Loomis, Meadow Vista, Newcastle, Penryn, El Dorado Hills, Cameron Park, Diamond Springs, Placerville, Shingle Springs, Auburn Lake Trails, Georgetown, Cold Springs, Coloma, Rescue and Cool.